Post-Release Depression

Dear gentle reader,
I’m still alive. I went through a bit of a strange period.

The first reason is that I’ve been working like stupid on a project since December, which coalesced in this:

The second is that the project completely stressed and burned me out, to a point where everything, even role-playing games, felt gimmicky and stupid. This caused a plethora of personal problems as well, which left me depressed for quite a while.

I have bounced back a bit now.  Last night I couldn’t sleep and had some terrific game mechanic design ideas to solve a problem that has been bugging me and a bunch of other professional and skilled designers for a long, long while. One can only hope.

EDIT: I might feel a bit strongly about the issue, and I’m not sure if I “solved” it, but, again, one can only hope.

4 thoughts on “Post-Release Depression

  1. Glad to hear your feeling better. Looking forward to reading what you have, must say you have piqued my curiosity.

  2. Congratulations!

    I certainly understand how the process of dissertating (I’m pretty sure I made that word up) can suck the life from you!

    D.

The Internet wants to know what's your opinion on this. Leave a reply.

