What’s in a blog name?

I might shut down this blog. The reason? Its name.

This blog, as many of you imagine, got its name out of a Gygax+Kuntz module called “Lost Cavern of Tsojcanth” and a bit of wordplay. I enjoyed running the module for my now-completed Greyhawk20 campaign so much that I started using Tsojcanth as online handle about 8-10 years ago.

Nowadays I feel like I should stop using it: not only because of the 3E re-adaptation of the module, but because legally it doesn’t belong to me, which leads to a vague feeling of anxiety (here used in a quasi-kierkegårdian sense) whenever I type it.

So, as soon as I’ll come up with a decent name and make up my mind the blog provider, I’ll stop writing here and go somewhere else.

One thought on “What’s in a blog name?

  1. Maybe I’m wrong, but, if it is illegal to use to word Tsojcanth in blog title what happens of the thousands of sites and blogs that use the word Hobbit? And what about using Star Wars as part of the title of this magnus opus : http://www.angryalien.com/1205/starwarsbuns.asp

    I mean, if George Lucas, notoriously flippy when it comes to intellectual property, won’t do anything to stop people using bunnies to re-enact Star Wars, why would Gygax’ ghost come knocking at your door?

    But hey, won’t stop you from picking a blog name that I can actually spell without double checking it on Google.

The Internet wants to know what's your opinion on this. Leave a reply.

