69: Random Unsubstatiated Hypothesis

A floor plan demonstrates the organizational logic of a building; a section embodies its emotional experience.

Mattew Frederick, 101 Things I Learned in Architecture School

Yep I know dungeon geomorphs dice came out already, but a webapp that mashes up side cuts and planimetries would be awesome. As I’m a lazy-thing, enjoy the photoshop I should have done a long while ago using Stonewerks’s & Dyson’s geomorphs… as they are awesome and must be used to build cool stuff.

By the way, I finally wrote a really easy tutorial on how to modify geomorphs to build maps like this.

Yep that’s an isometric axonometric projection. Yep it looks a bit off, and my photoshopping skills are not that good so you can see seams. But it’s late and wanted to share. Feel free to populate, mash it up and use it for anything: leave a comment or a message and I’ll put a linky thing to your content if you want. 🙂

If I’ll ever do this again, I’ll just write a batch transformer for the tiles…

UPDATE: Qubish polished the map and numbered the rooms on his blog “Of Dice and Djinn“.

UPDATE: grab the one page dungeon: Axo’s Dungeon!

23 thoughts on “69: Random Unsubstatiated Hypothesis

  1. That looks super-cool. I’m not sure if I could run it or not without nice flat projections of each individual section, but dang if I don’t want to try it either way.

    • Jeff, the nice flat projections are the individual tiles 🙂

      You don’t really need planimetries for the sections, just expect them to be 10 feet wide for corridors and 20 feet wide for rooms.

      BTW A5 one page dungeon yay! 😀

  2. Now, I must avoid writing an app to create such maps. Stupid master’s project stealing my summer.
    Will do something about it in September if people is interested and I get permission from the authors.

  3. That is amazingly cool. I am stealing this and will send you the “key” once I key it.
    Assuming there is a OPD2012 you *must* enter this or something like it.

  4. I am overcome by the awesome.

    As tribute, I have taken the time to rearrange the pixels. I’ve reworked the fill to hide all of the seams. Then I numbered 69 of the rooms in a ridiculous manner, because that’s how I roll. 4 maps, keyed and not, white background and brown. You can find them over at my blog if you are interested.

    Thank you so much for putting this together Tsojcanth! I can’t wait to see how people populate this thing.

  5. Pingback: Dyson-ing around the web « A character for every game
  6. Pingback: Pretty, pretty dungeon « WHIT?
  7. Pingback: Another hypothesis from Tsojcanth | PostGygaxian
  8. Pingback: How to draw awesome 3D dungeons from geomorphs « Lost Papers of Tsojcanth
  9. Pingback: Hypothesis 69 redux: Axo’s Dungeon for One Page Dungeon Competition 2012 « Lost Papers of Tsojcanth
  10. Pingback: 3D dungeons & graph paper « Lost Papers of Tsojcanth
  11. Pingback: People SH!T Be Pimped! Come Take a Look! | Wrathofzombie's Blog
  12. Hi tsojcanth,
    Hope you still get these comments.

    I ran across this dungeon again after years of forgetting it existed, and am loving it.

    Couple questions though:
    Did you stat out the monsters for this anywhere (reavers, paralyzing worms, bone shaman, giant starfish, etc.)? Or is this a “make ’em as tough as you want ’em” sort of deal?

The Internet wants to know what's your opinion on this. Leave a reply.